transcend your environment…….north carolina

My journey to North Carolina was an adventure.  Raleigh, Greensboro, Asheville, Charlotte and all in between! 

From my drive through historic Oakwood Cemetery in Raleigh (and the curious beloved life of Ouida Emery Hood!) to the distinct architectural style homes including: Greek Revival to Queen Anne to bungalows in the historic district.

My visit to the Woolworth Building in Greensboro, where 4 young black men started what is known as “sit-ins” that were part of a nonviolent protest in 1960 during racial segregation. The lunch counter is still there and everything intact to preserve history. Amazing.

Driving through the Blue Ridge Parkway, Shenandoah National and the Great Smoky mountains, I was in total awe of Mother Natures handy work. Fall leaves fell gently like snow on my car, and I could almost hear a symphony playing to accompany such beauty. Chimney Rock, Cherokee, the town of Bat Cave and the long windy drive up the mountains took my breath away and made me physically stop for a moment, so I could catch it back!

To Mr. George Vanderbilt, thank you for your vision and legacy you left of your family home, The Biltmore Estate.

My stop in Charlotte was to visit the childhood home (and Library) of the evangelist Billy Graham. I did not know much about Billy and was in awe that he had counseled 11 Presidents! Whatever your religion or beliefs, he has had a remarkable life and touched many lives.

I met so may interesting people and learnt, once again, that we are all so different as human beings, but at our core, all the same.

To the humble and gracious people of the mountains, I thank you for your kindness and generosity.

 

This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

